Meet the Counselors

ccMy name is Dominique Ortiz and  I have been a community counselor with Au Pair In America since September 1999.  I have lived in Arlington since 1997.My cluster covers Arlington and a few zip codes in Falls Church. I oversee a large cluster and all my families and au pairs live within a 15 minutes ride from my house. I enjoy working with such a great group of people and being able to take care of my extended family whenever something comes up.

Working for Au Pair In America has brought me satisfaction in many ways. Being myself a “foreigner”(I was born in France and moved to the USA in 1986), and having worked as an Au Pair in England and the US , I feel a close connection to all of my Au Pairs. I have been through many of their challenges myself and therefore understand them well . Speaking English and French fluently and being comfortable in German and Spanish ,I can assist them in their maternal tongue whenever necessary.I have also traveled to many of their countries and experienced their culture first hand.

Helping host families and  au pairs understand  each other’s culture and needs is an important part of my job.With the support of my own family,a husband and two wonderful daughters,I hope I can accomplish this very important task of bringing  the world closer together,match after match!

Kristina

My name is Kristina Jarosova and I started with Au Pair America on September 1st, 2011. I have the pleasure to work with Dominique Ortiz, who has been a community counselor for this area over the past 12 years.  She will provide support and insights in the first few months when needed and together we will continue servicing host families and au pairs in Arlington and Falls Church.


I think it is wonderful for young people to broaden their horizon by living abroad and experiencing a different culture and customs.  I have had the privilege to experience and learn about the American culture and customs myself.


I am originally from Prague, Czech Republic (family is still there).  In 1991, I moved to Wisconsin for a high school exchange program when I was 18 and subsequently played tennis for a university in Texas for four years.  I met my husband (who is originally Dutch and also played college tennis) in Texas and together moved to Florida after our graduate studies in 1999.  In Florida, I taught English as a Second Language at the University of Florida and taught some tennis on the side.  We moved to Arlington in 2004 and I became a full-time mom of two wonderful kids.


Now I am looking forward to this international environment where cultures meet and new friendships are formed.  I am very excited about getting to know all of you.  I am looking forward to working with you over the coming years to ensure that everyone has a great experience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.