Author Archives: Raquel Wilhelm

Online Education Options

Hello ladies,

As the pandemic arrived we made arrangements for you to be able to fulfill your Education Requirement credits via online courses, this was not an option prior to COVID 19.

Please take advantage of the many free opportunities, or any paid options you now can take from home. It has never been easier to complete your education!

Down bellow are a long list of the Most Popular Education Options for Au Pairs;

www.coursera.org  

www.edx.org

www.ed2go.com/ 

https://online-learning.harvard.edu/catalog

Most Popular Courses:

The Science of Well Being – www.coursera.org/learn/the-science-of-well-being

Dog Emotion and Cognition – www.coursera.org/learn/dog-emotion-and-cognition

Interior Design – www.ed2go.com/courses/arts-and-design/graphic-arts/ilc/introduction-to-interior-design  

Introduction to Hospitality and Tourism Industry – https://www.edx.org/course/introduction-to-hospitality-and-tourism-industry 

Computer Science for Business Professionals – https://online-learning.harvard.edu/course/cs50s-computer-science-business-professionals?delta=0 

How to Write an Essay – https://www.edx.org/course/how-to-write-an-essay  

Tricky American English Pronunciation – 

https://www.classcentral.com/course/tricky-american-english-pronunciation-8274 

Fundamentals of Supervision and Management – www.ed2go.com/courses/business/soft-skills/ilc/fundamentals-of-supervision-and-management    

English for Career Development – https://www.coursera.org/learn/careerdevelopment 

Improve your English Communication Skills – https://www.coursera.org/specializations/improve-english? 

Photography – www.ed2go.com/schoolcraft/online-courses/secrets-of-better-photography/ 

Culinary Arts – https://classroomaupair.org/intro-to-culinary-arts/  

Best Course for 5 Hours:

Fairfax University of America – Online Museum Courses https://www.fxua.edu/sls/programs/non-intensive-esl/#museum-classes

Best ESL/TOEFL Courses:

International Language Institute – DC – www.ilidc.com 

LADO – DC Metro Area – www.lado.com

UCEDA – https://uceda.edu/toefl-preparation/ or https://uceda.edu/aupair/ for ESL classes, too.

EFI Online – https://www.eng4intl.com/daytime-evening-classes-overview/toefl-ibt-prep/ 

Kenton County Adult ESL – https://www.kentonesl.org/ 

Community College of Allegheny County – Grammar Refresher – https://www.ed2go.com/ccac/online-courses/grammar-refresher 

Zoni Language Center – Intermediate Conversations – www.zoni.edu/intensive-english-program/

Hudson County Community College – English Skills for Real Life Situations – https://classroomaupair.org/english  

Prince Georges Community College – ESL – https://www.pgcc.edu/go/adulteducationesl/ 

Fairfax Universtiy of America – https://www.fxua.edu/sls/programs/non-intensive-esl/ 

Georgia Tech Language Institute – https://esl.gatech.edu/additional-programs/short-courses 

Best Spanish Language Courses:

International Language Institute – www.ilidc.com 

https://www.ed2go.com/courses/language/languages/ilc/speed-spanish 

https://www.coursera.org/specializations/learn-spanish 

More Popular Choices:

Learning Across America and Learning Express – https://www.learningacrossamerica.net/find-your-class 

Classroom Au Pair – www.classroomaupair.org

Special thanks to Kelly DeBald for sharing some “All Things America” courses through Coursera.

America Through Foreign Eyes- Rice University- 7 weeks- 33 hours- https://www.coursera.org/learn/america-through-foreign-eyes 

Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History-                                                                     University of Illinois- 4 weeks-12 hours                                                        https://www.coursera.org/learn/race-cultural-diversity-american-life

Sports and Society-Duke- 7 weeks- 9 hours-                                             https://www.coursera.org/learn/sports-society – syllabus

Chemerinsky on Constitutional Law-University of CA- 5 weeks-17.5 hours 

https://www.coursera.org/learn/chemerinsky-on-constitutional-law-structure-of-government  

Introduction to American Law-University of Pennsylvania- 7 weeks- 9 hours https://www.coursera.org/learn/american-law – syllabus

From Freedom Rides to Ferguson:                                                                                                          Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement- Emory University- 5 weeks- 13 hours 

https://www.coursera.org/learn/nonviolence

America’s Written Constitution- Yale- 6 weeks- 23 hours- https://www.coursera.org/learn/written-constitution 

The Pronunciation of American English Specialization-                                                                                      University of CA- Irvine- 16 weeks- 80 hours                     https://coursera.org/specializations/american-english-pronunciation

Civic Engagement in American Democracy- Duke- 4 weeks- 14 hours 

https://www.coursera.org/learn/civic-engagement-american-democracy

American Education Reform:                                                                                                                       History, Policy, Practice- University of Pennsylvania- 8 weeks- 14 hours https://www.coursera.org/learn/edref